Basic Site Details

Name: Laurencekirk Parish Church
Town, district or village: Laurencekirk
City or county: Kincardineshire
Country: Scotland
Status: B Listed
Grid ref:

Building Type Classification

The building is classified under the following categories:
 ClassificationOriginal classification?Notes
Item 1 of 1Church  


The following date-based events are associated with this building:
 FromToEvent typeNotes
Item 1 of 31804  Original church
Item 2 of 34 February 1863  Alterations and repairs (Journal reference)
Item 3 of 31895  Spire and reconstruction


Design and Construction

The following individuals or organisations have carried out design/construction work. Where architects or practices worked together, matching letters appear beside their names in the Partnership Group column.
 NameRolePartnership GroupFromToNotes
Item 1 of 7James DuirsMasonC1804  
Item 2 of 7William HendersonArchitectA1863 Alterations and repairs
Item 3 of 7William Henderson & SonArchitectural practiceA1863 Alterations and repairs
Item 4 of 7William Low HendersonArchitectA1863 Alterations and repairs
Item 5 of 7Alexander Marshall MackenzieArchitectB18941896Spire and reconstruction
Item 6 of 7Alexander Marshall MackenzieArchitectB18941896Spire and reconstruction
Item 7 of 7James MatthewsArchitectB18941896Spire and reeconstruction


Bibliographic References

The following books contain references to this building:
Item 1 of 1Sharples, J, Walker, D W and Woodworth, M2015The Buildings of Scotland: Aberdeenshire South and Aberdeen London and New Haven: Yale University Pressp636

Periodical References

The following periodicals contain references to this building:
 Periodical NameDateEditionPublisherNotes
Item 1 of 1Aberdeen Journal4 February 1863   

Archive References

The following archives hold material relating to this building:
 SourceArchive nameSource catalogue no.Notes
Item 1 of 2Historic Environment ScotlandListed Buildings Register37229 
Item 2 of 2Viewfield House, Old Perth Rd, Inverness (1990)A Marshall Mackenzie & Marr Office List (held by John G Marr in 1960)