Basic Biographical Details
|Name: ||Stuart Lothian Barclay |
|Designation: ||Architect |
|Born: ||18 November 1921 |
|Died: ||29 June 2007 |
|Bio Notes: ||Stuart Lothian Barclay was born on 18 Novermber 1921, the son of James Barclay, winde merchant and his wife Florence Winifred Lothian. He began his studies at the University of Cambridge in October 1941, commencin the Mechanics and Science Tripos. His studies were interrupted by war service, which he spent with the Royal Engineers. He reached the rank of Captain. In October 1946 he returned to Cambridge, retaking year I and completing years II and III and graduating MA in 1949 or 1950. |
From 1950 he gained office experience with Frank Burnet & Boston in Glasgow, T J Beveridge & Dallachy in Dunfermline during which time he gained experience in domestic work, schools and industrial estate work, and Norman & Dawbarn in London. From June 1952 he began Stuart Stanley's correspondence course for his final architecture exam. In 1954 he took a post wirth Eugene C Kent in London as chief assistant. In November 1955 he sat the professional practice and practical experience exam and He was elected ARIBA on 6 March 1956, his proposers being Thomas J Beveridge, James Bell and Frank R Burnet. He was elected ARIAS the same year.
During his student years and afterwards Barclay made various tours on the continent. During the vacations he studied architecture in Scandinavia, Italy, France, Austria and Spain. From December 1954 to May 1955 he visited the USA and Canada where he obtained some practice building experience.
In 1956 he entered the office of James W Reid and became 'sole principal'. He was joined in the practice by Robert McLaren and Geoffrey Jarvis and the name was changed to Lothian Barclay & Jarvis when Jarvis became a partner in 1959. He may have operated the practice as S Lothian Barclay for a short time but it had become Lothian Barclay Jarvis within a year. In 1961 John Boys was taken into partnership, the practice then becoming Lothian Barclay Jarvis & Boys.
Barclay was elected FRIBA on 4 February 1970, proposed by Jack Coia, John Boys and Geoffrey Jarvis. Coia described Barclay in his statement as 'a man of dignity'.
In about 1970 the practice name changed again to the Boys Jarvis Partnership after the retirement of Lothian Barclay in that year. A second office was opened on Bute. In 1987 the practice was dissolved with one part becoming the John Boys Architects. On the retirement of John Boys in 1993, the practice was taken over by James Cuthbertson and became James G Cuthbertson: Architects.
Barclay died after a fall in the Southern General Hospital in Glasgow on 29 June 2007, survived by his wife, Sylvia Joyce Warren and at least one son, Gordon J Barclay.
Private and Business Addresses
|The following private or business addresses are associated with this architect:|
| ||Address||Type||Date from||Date to||Notes|
|Glasgow, Scotland||Business|| || || |
|Glendoune/996, Great Western Road, Glasgow, Scotland||Private/business||c. 1953||After 1956||Served as both home and work address around 1956.|
|19, Woodside Place, Glasgow, Scotland||Business||1965 *||After 1970|| |
|Westerton House, Balloch, Dunbartonshire, Scotland||Private||Before 1970||2007|| |
* earliest date known from documented sources.
Employment and Training
Buildings and Designs
|The following books contain references to this architect:|
|Bailey, Rebecca M||1996||Scottish architects' papers: a source book|| ||Edinburgh: The Rutland Press||p143|
|The following periodicals contain references to this architect:|
| ||Periodical Name||Date||Edition||Publisher||Notes|
|RIAS Chartered Architect||2007||Summer|| ||Death note|
|The following archives hold material relating to this architect:|
| ||Source||Archive Name||Source Catalogue No.||Notes|
|RIAS, Rutland Square||Records of membership|| || |
|RIBA Archive, Victoria & Albert Museum||RIBA Nomination Papers|| ||Stuart Lothian Barclay: A no17547, F no6942 (Combined Box 167)|