Basic Biographical Details

Name: Frank Darling
Designation: Architect
Born: 1850
Died: 1923
Bio Notes: Frank Darling was born in 1850, the son and brother of prominent Anglican clergymen in Toronto, and trained with Henry Langley. He then sought experience in London, in the offices of George Edmund Street and Arthur William Blomfield, returning to Toronto after three years to commence practice on his own account. After a year practising alone he went into partnership with Henry MacDougall in 1873 but this was dissolved when MacDougall returned to Scotland in 1875.

In 1880 Darling entered into a new partnership with Samuel Curry. In 1890 the firm became Darling, Pearson & Sproatt when John Andrew Pearson (born 1867) and Henry Sproatt, who were already in partnership together, joined the firm. The firm was renamed Darling & Pearson in 1899 when Sproatt left to enter a new partnership with Ernest Rolph. The title of Darling & Pearson was retained after Darling's death in 1923.

Private and Business Addresses

The following private or business addresses are associated with this architect:
 AddressTypeDate fromDate toNotes
Item 1 of 1Toronto, CanadaBusiness   

Employment and Training

Employers

The following individuals or organisations employed or trained this architect (click on an item to view details):
 NameDate fromDate toPositionNotes
Item 1 of 4George Edmund Street1869Before 1872Assistant 
Item 2 of 4(Sir) Arthur William BlomfieldAfter 18691872Assistant 
Item 3 of 4MacDougall & Darling18731875Partner 
Item 4 of 4Darling & Pearson18991923Partner 

RIBA

RIBA Proposals

This architect proposed the following individuals for RIBA membership (click on an item to view details):
 NameDate proposedNotes
Item 1 of 1Andrew Sharp3 December 1923for Fellowship

References

Bibliographic References

The following books contain references to this architect:
 Author(s)DateTitlePartPublisherNotes
Item 1 of 1www.magma.ca/~djeanes/architects/2005www.magma.ca/~djeanes/architects/ Magma Communications architects' directory